Shortlist revealed for Suzy Lamplugh Trust national safety awards

Shortlist revealed for Suzy Lamplugh Trust national safety awards

The nominations for the National Personal Safety Awards run by Suzy Lamplugh Trust have been revealed.

The awards, which are being hosted by former Crimewatch presenter Jacqui Hames, have nine award categories, including Safer Community, Safer Workplace, Young Person’s Safety and Best Safety Campaign.

Lone worker experts Peoplesafe are sponsoring the event which will take place in London next week (March 17).
Peoplesafe are also sponsoring the Personal Safety Champion category, which will be awarded to the individual who most facilitated the improvement of safety for employees in the workplace, especially for those employees who work alone.

The shortlisted candidates for that award are Rob Harris, of Midlands-based Fry Housing Trust; Richard Jones of national housebuilder Bovis Homes, and Paul Forsythe, of Shrewsbury-based Severnside Housing.

Other nominations include Manchester, Stafford and Teesside Universities for the Safer Campus Campaign Award; the Union for Shop Distributive and Allied Workers (USDAW) and the parliamentary and diplomatic protection security liaison unit of the Metropolitan Police for the Best Safety Campaign Award.

Ian Johannessen, Peoplesafe’s managing director, said:

“The judges were impressed by the standard of the entries and those shortlisted should be proud to have made it to the final.

“At Peoplesafe personal safety is at the heart of everything we do, just as it is at Suzy Lamplugh Trust. So we gladly took up the opportunity to sponsor these awards and to recognise the importance of the effort made by people to keep others safe.”

Rachel Griffin, director of Suzy Lamplugh Trust, said:

“We are looking forward to the event and celebrating the hard work that goes on to make communities and workplaces safer.”

Suzy Lamplugh Trust works to reduce the risk of violence and aggression through campaigning, education and support.
The charity was set up by Paul and Diana Lamplugh in memory of their daughter Suzy, a 25 year old estate agent, who disappeared in 1986 after she went to meet an unknown client in London. Her body was never found.

Peoplesafe, which has its headquarters in South Yorkshire, is one of the UK’s leading providers of simple and lightweight equipment, monitoring services and safety training for lone workers.

It provides an NSI Gold accredited service, which is the highest possible industry recognition. The service is fully compliant with the British Standard for lone worker provision (8484). Its clients include a range of major retailers, housing associations, facilities management companies, charities and house builders.

The awards ceremony will be held at the Church House Conference Centre in London on Thursday March 17.

The full list of nominations is:

The Peoplesafe Personal Safety Champion Award: Rob Harris – Fry Housing, Richard Jones – Bovis Homes,Paul Forsythe – Severnside Housing.

Suzy Lamplugh Trust Safer Workplace Award: Andrew Page Ltd, NIAMH (the Northern Ireland Association for Mental Health).

Suzy Lamplugh Trust Safer Community Award: Cambridgeshire Domestic Abuse and Sexual Violence Partnership, The Hollie Gazzard Trust, Tim Stearn, Graham Worrall – Home Watch Coordinator Pendleton (PendletonNW).

Suzy Lamplugh Trust Inspiring Individual Award: Mitzi Wilson – Royal College of Nursing, Lorin Lafave – The Breck Foundation, Graham Worrall – Pendleton NW, Sinéad O’Connor – Manchester Mind.

Suzy Lamplugh Trust Taking Stalking Seriously Award: Jennifer Perry – the Digital Trust, Nick Gazzard – The Hollie Gazzard Trust, Claire Waxman – Voice 4 Victims.

Suzy Lamplugh Trust National Personal Safety Day Award: TravelSafe Partnership, Lesley Brandon – Sky.

Suzy Lamplugh Trust Young Person’s Safety Award: Fitzrovia Youth in Action, Moorhall Primary School.

Suzy Lamplugh Trust Best Safety Campaign Award: Union for Shop Distributive and Allied Workers (USDAW), Security Liaison Unit (Metropolitan Police), Parliamentary and Diplomatic Protection.

The Safer Campus Campaign Award: Manchester University, Staffordshire University, Teeside University.

[su_button url=”” target=”blank” style=”flat” background=”#df2027″ color=”#ffffff” size=”10″ radius=”0″ icon=”icon: arrow-circle-right”]Click here to find out more about Peoplesafe[/su_button]

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.